Making Meaning


Discussion Prompt

After watching the video during class today, how do you think YOU will make meaning within the scope of this class or thereafter? Which of the three ways that Guy discusses seem to matter most to you? Post your comments below.

10 Responses to Making Meaning

  1. Kathy Ireland says:

    The way I want to make meaning is to show people the fun in life, and that no matter how bad things get, there is always good in the world. This could go along with the point that I want to better the quality of life for individual people.

  2. Robyn Broaddus says:

    I want to make meaning by educating people about the choices they make and how it effects not only them but other people in their lives. This would go aling with his point, increasing a individual’s quality of life

  3. Sarah Laurie says:

    I want to make meaning by educating individuals about the abuse animals suffer. Many of the hardships animals face are inflicted by people who don’t know any better and can be stopped. This concept would connect with Kawasaki’s idea of righting a wrong.

  4. Katie Banko says:

    I want to make meaning by informing people to not take life so seriously, by not stressing on the hardships people may have in their lives. I feel this was the concept of increasing the quality of life that Guy Kawasaki was talking about in the video.

  5. Rose Sieve says:

    http://www.businessinsider.com/samsung-smart-tv-motion-and-voice-control-demonstration-2012-1

    look at that! I cant believe how far tech has come!

    • stem110t says:

      I have a hunch the Apple TV w/ Siri will do much better. http://bits.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/10/27/whats-really-next-for-apple-in-television/

  6. Tim Angell says:

    Well that did get me thinking as to why I’m in college so I’m glad I can now answer that. I liked high school so I’m keeping a good thing going, while furthering my knowledge. As for what I want to do in the future I plan to continue schooling as a teacher and improve the lives of my students so they can find what they want to do.

    • stem110t says:

      “I plan to continue schooling as a teacher and improve the lives of my students so they can find what they want to do.”

      Terrific!

      Which subject(s) interest you the most that you might want to teach? What technologies are making a difference that you might want to become familiar with and use?

  7. After seeing that Video of Guy Kawaski, I find myself looking him up on Wiki and youtube. I’m curious to know where he is taking this business and what he would be able to accomplish by doing it this way.

  8. Pingback: Group Blogs and Problem Statements « Technology and Your World

